G. Henle Verlag


Beethoven: Piano Sonatas, Op. 14

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
    • Editor: Norbert Gertsch
    • Fingering: Murray Perahia
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-020180810-9
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 34
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    The piano sonata Op. 14, No. 1 is interesting in that it is the only one of Beethoven's piano sonatas that he arranged for a different instrumentation: the string quartet. He undertook this arrangement to protect himself from those made by others. For this reason he went about it in a meticulous manner; adding, for instance, extremely detailed information regarding dynamics and articulation. The acclaimed pianist Murray Perahia, the co-editor for Henle's new edition of Beethoven's Sonatas, also takes this source into account for the revision and in addition provides his own fingerings.

    _This edition replaces the older HN170._