G. Henle Verlag


Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 8 in C Minor, Op. 13 - "Grande Sonata Pathétique"

Format Descriptions
Expected to ship in about a week.
    • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
    • Editor: Norbert Gertsch
    • Fingering: Murray Perahia
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 979-020181348-6
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 21
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    In a span of only eight years, between 1794–1802, Beethoven composed twenty piano sonatas, among them his so-called "Grande Sonata Pathétique" op. 13. It marks the consummation of his Classical style, yet also already alludes to his Heroic Period with its intensely Romantic characteristics. Composed in the "tragic" key of C minor, it foreshadows the expressive drama of later masterworks such as the Fifth Symphony or the Coriolan Overture. Of the famous sonatas, this one is the most technically manageable and thus proves immensely popular with advanced piano students.

    _This edition replaces the older HN48._