Breitkopf & Härtel


Beethoven: Meeres Stille and Glückliche Fahrt, Op. 112

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven
    • Editor: Armin Raab
    • Piano reduction: Carl Reinecke
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
    • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
    • Work Language: German
    • ISMN: 979-000418352-6
    • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
    • Pages: 24
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    In his, Op. 112, Beethoven sets the two poems by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe Meeresstille ("Calm Sea") and Glückliche Fahrt ("Prosperous Voyage"). Several sketches reveal that Beethoven had already begun to take an interest in the poems by the end of 1814. The composer conducted the première at a benefit concert for the Viennese Citizens' Hospital Fund in 1815. As the publication of this work was long in coming, the dedicatee Goethe received a copy of the score only in May 1822. A few months later Beethoven inquired of him: "[…] how lovely would it be to know, if I appropriately united my harmonies with yours. Also enlightenment on what is to be seen as truth, would be dearly appreciated, as I love the latter above all, and never shall be said: Veritas odium parit."