• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Universal Edition


    Bartók: Violin Sonata No. 2, Sz. 76

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Béla Bartók
    • Editor: Peter Bartók
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
    • Work: Violin Sonata No. 2, Sz. 76, BB 85
    • ISMN: 9790008008610
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 56


    This piece for violin and piano by Béla Bartók was composed in 1922. Its premiere took place in London one year later. Two very contrasting parts characterize this sonata: A slow and expressive movement and a fast one, held in a dance-like rhythm. Because of its high difficulty the "2nd Sonata" especially suits professional musicians. This revised edition was prepared by referring to all surviving sources, as follows: (1) Sketch, for violin and piano; (2) Final copy, mostly in a copyist's hand, with additions by the composer; (3) Violin part, copied by the composer; (4) A copy of the first printing, with the composer's marks for the second printing.