Bartók: Suite for Piano, Op. 14 Sz. 62, BB 70

Boosey & Hawkes - M051280421

Availability: In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.

    1. Composer: Béla Bartók
    2. Editor: Peter Bartók
    3. Instrumentation: Piano
    4. ISMN: 979-005128042-1
    5. Size: 9 x 12.0 inches
    6. Pages: 20

    The Suite, Op. 14, Sz. 62, BB 70 is a piece for solo piano written by Béla Bartók. It was written in February 1916, published in 1918, and debuted by the composer on April 21, 1919, in Budapest. The Suite is one of Bartók's most significant works for piano, only comparable with his 1926 Piano Sonata. Though much of Bartók's work makes frequent use of Eastern European folk music, this suite is one of the few pieces without melodies of folk origin. However, Romanian, Arabic, and North African rhythmic influences can still be found in some movements. Originally intending the suite to be a five-movement work, Bartók later decided against the idea and discarded the second movement, the Andante, later publishing it in the October 1955 issue of Új Zenei Szemle (New Musical Review).

  • Syllabi containing pieces in this book include:
    1. ABRSM Piano 2015: LRSM
    2. MTAC Piano 2012: Level 9

Type: Sheet Music