• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Editio Musica Budapest


    Bartók: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.


    String quartets accompanied Bartók's creative career from the First, composed in 1908, to the Sixth, completed in 1939 while still in Europe. The First String Quartet was the most significant creation of the newly fledged composer. It is unsurprising then that when composing a work of such scale as the First String Quartet in 1908, Bartók should attenuate the German spirit with French colors. The co-habitation of the two is a characteristically art nouveau phenomenon, perfectly in keeping with the trends of the age. However, this blending of styles was not a conscious effort on Bartók's part; rather, he was exploring various means of expression. The tonal plan, too, is rather curious: the first movement is in A flat minor, the second in B major, the third in A minor; that is, the closed tonal system typical of Classical form, and which would reappear in Bartók's later works, is in no way present here.