• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Carus


    Bach: Ich habe meine Zuversicht, BWV 188

    Cantata for the 21st Sunday after Trinity

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    • Format: Vocal Score
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
    • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
    • Work: Ich habe meine Zuversicht, BWV 188
    • Work Languages: English, German
    • ISMN: 9790007187293
    • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
    • Pages: 32
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    The cantata "Ich habe meine Zuversicht" BWV 188 comes from the so-called "Picander cycle" and was written for the 21st Sunday after Trinity in 1728 or 1729. There are some particular problems associated with its transmission. The original set of parts was lost, and the manuscript score only survives in fragmentary form. Probably as early as the 18th century the score was divided up into numerous separate parts in order to make more money, or to be able to provide as many "Bach relics" as possible for posterity. The first movement, an instrumental sinfonia, is missing apart from the final bars. We simply know that this sinfonia is based on the 3rd movement of the Harpsichord Concerto BWV 1052 in D minor and that instead of the harpsichord, an obbligato organ was envisaged. Its successful reconstruction by the baroque specialist and organist Pieter Dirksen now makes it possible to perform the cantata again complete with the introductory sinfonia.