G. Henle Verlag


Bach: Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, BWV 1052

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    2. Editors: Matan Entin, Norbert Müllemann
    3. Piano reduction: Johannes Umbreit
    4. Fingering: Michael Schneidt
    5. Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    6. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Harpsichord
    7. Originally for: Orchestra, Harpsichord
    8. ISMN: 979-020181380-6
    9. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    10. Pages: 50
    11. Urtext / Critical Edition

    Bach's harpsichord concerti, extremely popular among pianists, are presumably reworkings of pieces originally written for the violin. Bach, however, succeeded in transferring the diverse idiosyncrasies of violin technique to the keyboard with such ingenuity that most of today's pianists also include these concerti in their standard repertoire.

    The first concerto in D Minor is perhaps the most popular – not least because of its jaunty outer movements and the eminently forceful solo part.