• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Bach: French Overture in B Minor, BWV 831

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.


    In 1735 Johann Sebastian Bach published his French Overture BWV 831 together with the famous Italian Concerto as the second part of his "Clavier-Übung". The designation Ouvertüre (Overture) can be somewhat misleading, since this work consists not just of an opening movement but also of a full-fledged partita with 11 movements: Ouvertüre, Courante, Gavotte I & II, Passepied I & II, Sarabande, Bourrée I & II, Gigue and Echo. in terms of melodic richness and rhythmic play it is on a par with its sister-pieces from Part 1 of the "Clavier Übung", the 6 Partitas BWV 825-830.