• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Breitkopf & Härtel


    Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048

    Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.


    The aim of this combined scholarly and practical edition of the Brandenburg Concerto is to offer a state of the art performance material of this standard work of Baroque music literature, which satisfies the practical needs of performing artists.

    Instead of a "slow movement", the Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 has nothing but two chords. Bach, like Handel in his organ concertos, most likely wanted the solo instruments to insert an improvisation here. But what is easy for the proficient organ soloist in Handel's music turns out to be impossible for the nine solo parts in Bach's piece. Emil Platen's solution "offers a loosely structured elaboration that is placed before the two chords notated by Bach and that uses all of the string instruments. It draws its inspiration from stylistic elements of the concerto, without creating the impression of being an autonomous movement."