Bach: Ärgre dich, o Seele, nicht, BWV 186

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    • Format: Vocal Score
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, SATB Choir
    • Originally for: SATB Choir, Orchestra
    • Work Languages: English, German
    • ISMN: 979-000718651-7
    • Size: 7.5 x 10.6 inches
    • Pages: 48
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    The cantata "Ärgre dich, o Seele, nicht" (Fret thee not, thou mortal soul) BWV 186 is in a sense the companion work to the much better-known cantata "Herz and Mund and Tat and Leben" BWV 147. Both were composed in Advent 1716 as Bach's last twocantatas for the Weimar court, and both were arranged for another Sunday in Bach's first Leipzig cantata cycle by the addition of recitatives and a large-scale chorale movement, heard at the end of both parts. The sound ofthe Cantata BWV 186 is characterized by the four-part woodwind ensemble writing. The final chorale, heard twice, anticipates the opening choruses of the chorale cantatas from Bach's second cycle.Cantata BWV 186 for the 7th Sunday after Trinity is a considerably expanded reworking of a Weimar Advent cantata of 1716. Only the text survives of the Advent cantata, but Diethard Hellmann has been able to reconstruct the work from the later version.