Bach: 6 Cello Suites, BWV 1007-1012

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
    • Editor: Andrew Talle
    • Instrumentation: Cello
    • ISMN: 979-000656577-1
    • Size: 10.0 x 12.8 inches
    • Pages: 61
    • Urtext / Critical Edition

    When you think cello, you think of Bach's immortal cello suites.

    Appropriately and not surprisingly there are countless editions of the suites. But the composer's autograph has not come down to us. It is lost and this circumstance has always been a major challenge for editors. The four surviving handwritten sources and the original first edition of 1824 differ in many details, the articulation and phrasing being particularly ambiguous.

    In this new edition, Andrew Talle has fundamentally reassessed the relations between the surviving sources and has drawn conclusions regarding their evaluation and consequently the genesis of the suites. His evaluations are augmented with thorough discussions of the instrument for which the suites were conceived and the interpretative practices in Bach's day.

    "This edition does not present a perfect reconstruction of the lost autograph; no editor could claim to do so. Instead, I have attempted to provide musicians and scholars with a reliable version of the surviving musical text of the six cello suites and to shed light on the options which the Bach sources offer."