Breitkopf & Härtel


A. Marcello: Oboe Concerto in D Minor

with ornaments by J.S. Bach

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Alessandro Marcello
  • Editor: Himie Voxman
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Oboe
  • Originally for: Oboe, Orchestra
  • Work: Oboe Concerto in D Minor
  • ISMN: 9790004484852
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 24


Alessandro Marcello's D-Minor Oboe Concerto was published around 1716 in a collective print of six concertos forvarious solo instruments, to which Tomaso Albinoni and Antonio Vivaldi also contributed some works. Johann Sebastian Bach had previously produced a transcriptionof this work for harpsichord (BWV 974). Since a large part of Bach's ornaments can be comfortably transposed to the oboe, the editor borrowed these embellishments in the present edition.