Oxford University Press


Vaughan Williams: Oboe Concerto

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
    2. Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
    3. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Oboe
    4. Originally for: Orchestra, Oboe
    5. ISBN: 978-0-19-369231-2
    6. Size: 9.1 x 12.2 inches
    7. Pages: 48

    A capricious, lyrical, and nostalgic work, it is often considered to be Vaughan Williams's most successful work in this form. The first movement is pastoral in feeling. The second movement begins with a minuet, light and staccato in nature with a middle section featuring a musette's characteristic long-held drone played by the oboe with the melody in the strings. The third movement is a scherzo and two trios.