Stainer & Bell


Vaughan Williams: 3 Preludes founded on Welsh Hymn Tunes

Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
  • Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Instrumentation: Organ
  • Work: 3 Preludes Founded on Welsh Hymn Tunes
  • ISMN: 9790220217432
  • Size: 8.7 x 11.9 inches


Vaughan William's Three Preludes founded on Welsh Hymn Tunes for organ was first published in 1920, the same year as The Lark Ascending. The most well-known of the three preludes is Rhosymedre, or ‘Lovely', based on a melody named after the village of Rhosymedre in North Wales. The first prelude, Bryn Calfaria is based on a melody by W. Owen, while Hyfrdol comes from a hymn tune by R. H. Prichard.


Bryn Calfaria Rhosymedre Hyfrdol