Edition Peters


Transcriptions for Violin & Piano

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composers: Frédéric Chopin, John Dowland, Felix Mendelssohn, Fanny (Mendelssohn) Hensel, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Henry Purcell, Gioachino Rossini, Johann Strauss II
    2. Transcriber: Simon Fischer
    3. Instrumentation (this edition): Piano, Violin
    4. Originally for: Violin, Piano, Viola, Voice, Piano Reduction, Basso continuo, Violin I, Violin II, Mixed Choir, Orchestra
    5. ISMN: 979-057701567-5
    6. Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches

    Violinist Simon Fischer, renowned throughout the world for his highly praised string methods, now presents brilliant and idiomatic transcriptions for violin and piano of famous works from the classical repertoire. Perfect as encores or as part of a mixed recital, these arrangements of pieces by Dowland, Purcell, Rossini, Felix and Fanny Mendelssohn, Tchaikovsky, Chopin and Johann Strauss II will delight audiences and provide satisfying playing material for violinists.

    • Eight highly effective violin transcriptions, repertoire fromJohn Dowland to Johann Strauss II
    • Idiomatic violin parts demonstrating virtuoso potentialof instrument
    • Ossia alternatives for technically challenging moments
    • Video performances by Simon Fischer are available online
  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Dowland: Lachrimae
    2. Purcell: Chacony in G Minor
    3. Rossini: The Barber of Seville
    4. Mendelssohn: Andante from Symphony No. 5 in D Minor ('Reformation'), Op. 107
    5. Hensel: Notturno in G Minor
    6. Chopin: Waltz in A-flat Major, Op. 34, No. 1
    7. Tchaikovsky: Waltz from "Sleeping Beauty"
    8. J. Strauss II: Voices of Spring