Alphonse Leduc


Tomasi: Bassoon Concerto

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Henri Tomasi
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Bassoon
  • Originally for: Bassoon, Chamber Orchestra
  • Work: Bassoon Concerto
  • ISMN: 9790046218019
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches


"French composer and conductor, Henri Tomasi (1901-1971) published Concerto for Bassoon in 1957. As with his other wind compositions, Concerto for Bassoon was well-received by audiences. Tomasi was born in Marseille, but his Father and Mother were originally from La Casinca in Corsica. Despite being pressured in to musical studies by his parents, Tomasi dreamed of becoming a sailor, and during the summer, he stayed with his Grandmother in Corsica where he learnt traditional Corsican songs. However, in 1921, he began his studies at the Paris Conservatoire and went on to become a high profile composer and conductor. Tomasi did not forget his Corsican routes, often incorporating into his compositions themes of the songs he had learnt during the summers with his Grandmother. The Concerto for Bassoon is in three movements; 1) Andante and Allegro, 2) Serenade Nocturne, and 3) Final-Saltarelle. This Tomasi piece is suitable to advanced bassoonists, providing an exciting, alternative addition to the instrument's repertoire."