G. Henle Verlag


Telemann: Methodical Sonatas for Flute or Violin and Continuo - Volume 1

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Georg Philipp Telemann
  • Editor: Wolfgang Kostujak
  • Figured bass realization: Wolfgang Kostujak
  • Instrumentation: Basso continuo, Flute / Violin
  • ISMN: 9790201812663
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 181
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Telemann's sonatas, published in 1728, are "methodical" according to the meaning of the word in his own day, since in addition to the plain melody line given to the soloist in the first movements they also provide an ornamented variant each time. We commend this instructive and, at the same time, very enjoyable music to today's flautists and violinists. Henle's luxurious new publication offers a solo and basso-continuo part in which the two instrumental lines are aligned for orientation, plus another part that gives only an unrealised (but figured) bass line. The Henle edition also includes a full score with a stylistically appropriate continuo realisation.