Suk: String Quartet No. 2, Op. 31

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Josef Suk
    2. Editor: Zdeněk Nouza
    3. Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    4. ISMN: 979-026010552-2
    5. Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    6. Pages: 67
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    The single-movement String Quartet No. 2 by Josef Suk (1874-1935) was written at the height of his compositional powers. Completed in Krecovice in May 1911, this demanding work, with its complex harmonies and motivic structure, seemed avant-garde for its day: the Berlin premiere of November 1912 was accompanied by protests from the audience.