Stefanelli: Ombres chinoises

7 études - pantomimes

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Matthieu Stefanelli
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Ombres chinoises (7 études - pantomimes)
  • ISMN: 9790230994798
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 16



The cycle, Ombres chinoises - 7 études pantomimes, was composed between 2016 and 2017, then premiered by the composer on April 18, 2018 at the Auditorium in Salon-de-Provence after a day of masterclasses given to students at the city's conservatory. It is the logical continuation of Jeux de mime (dedicated to beginners, first cycle) and expands upon this idea: resolving technical difficulties through music theatre gestures. Each etude is dedicated to a concert pianist friend. They are all focused on particular technical aspects: seconds and ostinato, independent hands, combinations and arpeggios, contrasting and alternating articulations, study of rhythm and shifts... The level of difficulty is in increasing order, starting with the beginning of the second cycle and finishing with an etude for virtuosity.