Stainer & Bell


Stanford: 8 Partsongs, Op. 119

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Charles Villiers Stanford
    • Instrumentation: SATB Choir
    • Work Language: English
    • ISMN: 979-022022496-6
    • Size: 8.5 x 11.0 inches

    A jewel of English music, _The Blue Bird_ first appeared as the third of these eight partsongs to words by the Victorian poet and novelist Mary Coleridge. Published shortly after her death in 1908, Op. 119 is the first of two such cycles composed in response to the refined sensibility of her poetry, which proved an ideal match for Stanford's mastery of word-setting and of the romantic choral idiom.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    • The Witch
    • Farewell, my joy
    • The Blue Bird
    • The Train
    • The Inkbottle
    • The Swallow
    • Chillingham
    • My heart in thine