• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • M. P. Belaieff


    Silvestrov: "Post scriptum"

    Violin Sonata

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    Minimum Order Qty: 10
    • Composer: Valentin Silvestrov
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
    • Work: "Post scriptum" (Violin Sonata)
    • ISMN: 9790203003892
    • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
    • Pages: 32


    Silvestrov's violin sonata "Post scriptum" is another of his chamber music postludes. The composer once stated that the title of the work signifies that it is "a postscript to Mozart and the whole classical tradition. The text has already been written. We simply add our annotations, thoughts, questions, consternation, astonishment and regret. The classical phonemes begin to waft through other times and spaces. There is no longer such a thing as the ability to predict what something means, and its place is taken by a mysterious symbolism." (V. Silvestrov). A short three-movement sonata cycle emerges out of periods of silence lasting several seconds. It is impossible to point to a specific model. Classical idioms which have acquired the anonymous status of folklore hover in our minds, and the recurring performance marks in the score–"leggiero", "dolcissimo", "in the distance" and "con moto", which has the character of an idée fixe–reinforce the imaginary character of this "real" music. As the piece progresses, it becomes increasingly difficult to perceive the contours of the traditional patterns. Whereas Silvestrov's characteristic cantabile motives still predominate in the second movement, the finale already verges on inaudibility." (Tatiana Frumkis)