Breitkopf & Härtel


Sibelius: En saga (arr. for septet)

Format Descriptions
Expected to ship in 1-2 weeks.
    • Composer: Jean Sibelius
    • Format: Full Score
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Clarinet, Flute, String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)
    • Originally for: Orchestra
    • ISMN: 979-000448830-0
    • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    • Pages: 254

    The roots of _En saga_ , Jean Sibelius's first known tone poem, do not entirely go back to an orchestral concept. We do know that melodies from Sibelius' 1890–1891 study period in Vienna ended up in _En saga_. in Spring 1891 he worked on an "Octet," in September 1892 he thought of a "Septet," in November of a "Ballet Scene No. 2." One month later he completed _En saga_ which, by his own admission, was based on the "Octet."

    The arrangement as a septet by Gregory M. Barrett rests on the first version of 1892 and was given its first performance at the Brahms Hall in the Musikverein Vienna on 14 June 2003.