Breitkopf & Härtel


Schumann: Violin Concerto in D Minor, WoO 1

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Robert Schumann
  • Editor: Christian Rudolf Riedel
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • Work: Violin Concerto in D Minor, WoO 1
  • ISMN: 9790004183441
  • Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 62
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Schumann's last work for solo instrument and orchestra was not given its premiere until 1937, at which time it was also released in an editorially inadequate version. A re-evaluation of Schumann's late oeuvre began in the 1980s, in the wake of which the "missing link between the concertos of Beethoven and Brahms" (Yehudi Menuhin) also drew increasing attention. Since then, those in the know have come to appreciate the work, whose unique musical and technical demands challenge for both interpreter and listener.