Wiener Urtext


Schubert: Impromptus, Moments musicaux

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Franz Schubert
  • Editor: Ulrich Leisinger
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790500573579
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 114
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Franz Schubert's Impromptus and Moments musicaux are among the milestones of piano music and are a regular feature in music lessons and concert performances. This new edition brings all Impromptus and Moments musicaux together in one volume in a practice-focused manner. The musical text of the Impromptus is based primarily on the composer's autographs as well as on a copy of the Witteczek-Spaun Collection which was very important to Schubert. As no autograph sources for the Moments musicaux exist, the first and early editions of individual pieces were used as reference material. Due to this painstaking research these editions are very precise, not only with regard to musical details but also with fundamental issues like the rhythmical alignment of dotted rhythms and triplets. with clear engraving and a user-friendly page layout, this edition also features new notes on interpretation by Robert D. Levin, based on contemporary sources.