G. Henle Verlag


Schoenberg: Suite for Piano, Op. 25

Expected to ship in about a week.
  • Composer: Arnold Schoenberg
  • Editor: Marte Auer
  • Fingering: Shai Wosner
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Suite for Piano, Op. 25
  • ISMN: 9790201815480
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 37
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Schönberg's Suite, Op. 25 of 1923 refers to pre-classical forms in its movement titles Prelude, Gavotte–Musette, Intermezzo, Menuett–Trio and Gigue, yet at the same time it was the first work to be based entirely on a twelve-tone row. But anyone who believes that emotions can be left out of this completely new-sounding music is mistaken: Schönberg requires the player's full commitment, reflected in a whole palette of new articulation markings which he added to the musical text in order to ensure a nuanced and expressive performance. A challenge for all pianists! in the Henle Urtext edition, the Israeli-American pianist Shai Wosner, a true connoisseur of the Suite, provides indispensable assistance with the fingering to help decode this magnificent work. The Henle Urtext edition publishes this modern classic in a generously laid out music setting.