Editio Musica Budapest


Scarlatti: 200 Sonatas - Volume 4

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Domenico Scarlatti
  • Editor: György Balla
  • Instrumentation: Harpsichord / Piano
  • ISMN: 9790080086667
  • Size: 9 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 186
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The last of four volumes, this volume contains 50 of Scarlatti's later sonatas. The sonatas are not grouped according to their degree of difficulty. Rather, they are given in the order which corresponds with the Kirkpatrick numbering. This is approximately identical with the order in which they were composed. in this way, it became possible for the pairs of sonatas included in the selection to be placed closely after one another. Apart from inevitable Minor alterations, this edition follows the original text and its markings exactly. However, this does not apply to the fingering which is entirely an editorial addition. (In the original there is no fingering.)