Saint-Saëns: String Quartet No. 1 in E Minor, Op. 112

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns
  • Editor: Fabien Guilloux
  • Format: Set of Parts
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 1, Op. 112
  • ISMN: 9790006566259
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 76
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Ludwig van Beethoven's overpowering legacy caused many subsequent composers to avoid writing string quartets at all. Saint-Saëns was no exception in this respect and waited until 1899 and 1918 to produce his two contributions to the genre. Couched in classicism, they relate in form and style to early 19th-century French quartets and to a titan of the genre: Joseph Haydn.Saint-Saëns' string quartets appear here for the first time in a scholarly-critical edition.