G. Henle Verlag


Reger: Clarinet Quintet in A Major, Op. 146

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Max Reger
  • Editor: Michael Kube
  • Instrumentation: Clarinet Quintet (Clarinet, Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: Clarinet Quintet in A Major, Op. 146
  • ISMN: 9790201811178
  • Size: 9 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 84
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


With his clarinet quintet, begun in 1915, Reger was remembering his role models Mozart and Brahms, whose works in this genre he particularly admired. This melancholic quintet that is worked through in a strictly motivic way was to be Reger's last opus. Shortly after he had sent it to his publisher, he died of heart attack in May 1916. The quintet was to become his swan song, first performed at a memorial for the composer on 6 November 1916.