Theodore Presser


Persichetti: 3 Toccatinas, Op. 142

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Vincent Persichetti
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: 3 Toccatinas, Op. 142
  • ISBN: 9781491108598
  • Size: 8.9 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 18


A dazzling showpiece for the advanced pianist, commissioned especially by the University of Maryland as a contest work for the 1980 International Piano Festival and Competition. The three short movements of Persichetti's 142nd opus--Ben articulato, Grazioso and Caloroso--present quite a challenge to the pianist's dexterity, but the results are very effective, and very gratifying. The three pieces provide an absorbing keyboard spectacle, ranging from the lightning-quick percussive passages of the first Toccatina, to the delcate, spectral, harpsichord-like scales and arpeggios of the final Toccatina.