Mozart: String Quintets - Volume 3

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Editors: Wolf-Dieter Seiffert, Ernst Herttrich
  • Instrumentation: String Quintet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola I, Viola II, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790201807799
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 118
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Henle's edition corrects several widespread misreadings of the musical text and also draws on the first printings as important sources. The first printing of the Finale from the Quintet in D Major, K. 593 diverges greatly from the autograph. The editors consider it probable that the print version was authorized, which is the reason why Henle has published both versions of the movement (to enable a better comparison it is given as an ossia version above the musical text).

In the Preface and Comments the editors shed light on the source situation to these two immortal works written in the last two years of Mozart's life.