G. Henle Verlag


Mozart: Serenade in E-flat Major, K. 375 for Wind Sextet

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Editor: Henrik Wiese
  • Instrumentation: Bassoon I, Bassoon II, Clarinet I, Clarinet II, Horn I, Horn II
  • Work: Serenade in E-flat Major, K. 375
  • ISMN: 9790201807959
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 612
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Late in the evening on his name day in 1781 Mozart was on his way to bed when he suddenly heard familiar sounds coming from outside: the six musicians who had given the première of his Serenade in E-flat major two weeks beforehand and whom he had described as "poor fellows, but who can blow together quite nicely" had now met in the courtyard and were serenading him with his own work. Although it was officially composed for Thèrese Hickel, in actual fact Mozart mainly wanted to impress Emperor Joseph II, whose chief of the royal chamber music often went to Thèrese's house – "That's the reason why I also put a little effort into it." Did it really help? At any rate Mozart was appointed imperial chamber composer by Joseph II a few years later.

Includes horn parts in E-flat and F.