Wiener Urtext


Mozart: Piano Sonatas - Volume II

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Editor: Ulrich Leisinger
  • Fingering: Heinz Scholz
  • Introduction: Robert D. Levin
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISMN: 9790500572510
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 204
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


For more than 200 years Mozart's piano sonatas have been part of every pianist's repertoire. Research done over the last few decades has made it possible, however, to establish more accurate dating and ordering of these works. Expert examination of the sources has shown that many printed editions from the 18th century give more reliable detail than Mozart's autograph manuscripts; many of these works were prepared for publication by the composer himself and marked with precise indications for performance with regard to ornamentation, dynamics and articulation. This edition features music that is clear and well laid out, with page turns in convenient places, makes this edition extremely user-friendly. Advice on performance by the renowned Mozart specialist Robert D. Levin provides fresh stimulus for what can otherwise too often become a rather tired interpretation.