• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Mendelssohn: String Quartets, Op. 44

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    • Editor: Ernst Herttrich
    • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
    • ISMN: 9790201804439
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 181
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    "Spirited", "dramatic", "highly expressive", and "masterly" are among the comments made upon Mendelssohn's String Quartets, Op. 44 nos 1–3. He wrote them in 1837/1838, at a very happy time: he had just married, was becoming world famous, and had been appointed director of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Concerts, one of the highest positions in the German musical world at that time. The quartets were written in the order 2 ( in E Minor), 3 (in E-flat Major) and 1 (in D Major). Mendelssohn himself considered the Quartet in D Major as his best – perhaps a reason why he placed it at the beginning of the collection.