Breitkopf & Härtel


Mendelssohn: String Octet in E-flat Major, Op. 20

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Felix Mendelssohn
    2. Editor: Ralf Wehner
    3. Instrumentation: String Octet (4 violins, 2 violas, 2 cellos)
    4. ISMN: 979-000450285-3
    5. Size: 9.1 x 12.0 inches
    6. Pages: 120
    7. Urtext / Critical Edition

    The work crosses the boundaries from chamber music to orchestral ensemble not only in the form of the famous Scherzo which Mendelssohn expanded through additional wind parts and inserted into the London version of the First Symphony, Op. 11. A composer's note in the printed edition of the parts reads: "This Octet must be played in all parts in the style of a symphony; the Pianos and Fortés must be executed with great precision and shaped more distinctly and individually than is otherwise customary in pieces of this genre."