Promethean Editions


Lilburn: Piano Sonatas

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Douglas Lilburn
    2. Instrumentation: Piano
    3. ISMN: 979-067452301-1
    4. Size: 9.0 x 12.0 inches
    5. Pages: 84

    Our Lilburn release is a volume comprising four of his piano sonatas. The sonata in F-sharp Minor is a work of pure Romantic sensibility, while the sonata for piano in A Minor reveals Lilburn's very-sharply realised visual sense. There is a bracing, lyrical power to his 1949 sonata, the curve and grain of the music partaking of an impressive physical space. The second sonata, from 1956, provides an outstanding example of Lilburn's "orchestration" of piano colour and his sensitive balancing of tonal relationships.

  • Contains the following pieces:
    1. Piano Sonata in A Minor
    2. Piano Sonata in F-sharp Minor
    3. Sonata 1949
    4. Sonata 1956