Editio Musica Budapest


Kurtág: Games (Játékok) - Volume 2

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: György Kurtág
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • Work: Games (Volume 2)
  • ISMN: 9790080083789
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 44



Játékok is an ongoing collection of "pedagogical performance pieces". Kurtág has been writing them since 1973. Most volumes are for solo piano solo, but volumes 4 and and 8 are for piano 4-hands or two pianos.

Kurtág states: "The idea of composing Játékok was suggested by children playing spontaneously, children for whom the piano still means a toy. They experiment with it, caress it, attack it and run their fingers over it. They pile up seemingly disconnected sounds, and if this happens to arouse their musical instinct they look consciously for some of the harmonies found by chance and keep repeating them."