Koželuch: Complete Sonatas for Keyboard

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Leopold Koželuch
    2. ISMN: 979-026010790-8
    3. Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    4. Pages: 807

    The composer, pianist and piano teacher Leopold Koželuch (1747-1818) was one of the leading Czech musicians in 18th-century Vienna. His 50 sonatas for keyboard bear witness not only to the transition from the harpsichord or clavichord to the pianoforte, but also to the evolution of the classical sonata at the turn of the 19th century. Until now there have been few modern editions of this music. Our new edition, prepared by Christopher Hogwood, is the first to present all of Koželuch's sonatas for solo keyboard. Each of the four volumes contains 12 to 13 sonatas in chronological order by date of initial publication.