Hertl: Double Bass Sonata

Format Descriptions
In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: František Hertl
    • Instrumentation: Piano, Double Bass
    • ISMN: 979-026010796-0
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 48

    The renowned Czech bass player, composer and conductor František Hertl (1906-1973) led the double bass section of the Czech Philharmonic during the Václav Talich era and later taught at the Conservatory and the Academy of Musical Arts in Prague. An outstanding virtuoso, he had a consummate mastery of his instruments expressive potential and sound qualities. He also wrote successful concert and teaching pieces for his instrument.

    Composed in 1946, Hertl's only Sonata for Double Bass in three movements is a work of artistic and technical challenges that has maintained its place in the double bass repertoire to the present day.

    _This edition replaces the older H2068_.