Haydn: Symphony in G Major, Hob. I:88

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Editor: Andreas Friesenhagen
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • Work: Symphony in G Major, Hob. I:88
  • ISMN: 9790006562831
  • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 46
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


This edition clarifies a performance aspect of Haydn's Symphony in G major that has long been misunderstood: In m. 1 of the second movement (Largo) the viola, cello and several wind instrument parts are marked "solo", indicating that they play important motifs or themes and ought to stand out. Contrary to other editions, the "solo" marking in the cello should not be construed as indicating a solo instrument with the remaining cellos doubling the basses. Rather, the cellos should play as a section so as to stand out all the more clearly.