G. Henle Verlag


Haydn: String Quartets - Volume 6 (Opp. 42 and 50 - Prussian Quartets)

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Joseph Haydn
  • Editor: James Webster
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • ISMN: 9790201802107
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 189
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


The volume opens with something unusual:, Op. 42 is a single work, short and surprisingly easy to play; Haydn described it as "something small and with only 3 pieces". The Quartets, Op. 50, including the so-called Frog Quartet, are dedicated to the Prussian king Friedrich Wilhelm II, who was a talented cellist. Even though the "solo" at the beginning of opus 50, No. 1 is meant as joke, there are some good passages for cellists.