Hartmann: Concerto funebre

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Karl Amadeus Hartmann
  • Format: Solo Part with Piano Reduction
  • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Violin
  • Originally for: Violin, Orchestra
  • Work: Concerto funebre
  • ISMN: 9790001058889
  • Size: 9.1 x 11.9 inches
  • Pages: 40


Originally entitled "Music of Sorrow", the work was written in 1939, during the first months of World War II. It is Karl Amadeus Hartmann‘s only violin concerto and at the same time his most famous piece. Hartmann wanted the final chorale to be seen as an expression of confidence in hard times.