• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Handel: Concerto for Flute (or Oboe) in G Minor, HWV 287

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: George Frideric Handel
    • Editor: Terence Best
    • Instrumentation (this edition): Piano Reduction, Flute, Oboe
    • Originally for: Oboe, Orchestra
    • Work: Oboe Concerto in G Minor, HWV 287
    • ISMN: 9790006521142
    • Size: 9.1 x 11.8 inches
    • Pages: 16
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    The Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in G Minor, HWV 287 is a first edition. The work has for many years been considered spurious because no contemporary source existed. This concerto was thought to have been written by an amateur musician who borrowed material from Handel's works written or published after 1733. The situation changed drastically when a contemporary set of parts for the concerto, originally copied in Stuttgart for the Erbprinz Friedrich Ludwig von Württemberg, were found in 1993. These parts, copied about 1720, show that the composer borrowed from this concerto for compositions such as the organ concerto HWV 296a, the concerto grosso, Op. 6 No.11, HWV 329 as well as the trio sonata in G Minor, HWV 390. The parts are titled Concerto à 5 for 1 Flut Travers e Hautb , 2 Violino , 1 Alto Viola Col Basso continuo. This critical edition is the first to make use of this new source.