• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • Bärenreiter


    Handel: Complete Works for Violin and Basso Continuo

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: George Frideric Handel
    • Editor: Terence Best
    • Instrumentation: Violin, Basso continuo
    • ISMN: 9790006446285
    • Size: 9.6 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 142
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    Handel returned repeatedly throughout his life to the composition of works for violin and basso continuo. The earliest, HWV 358, was composed around 1707, while his last work for this combination of instruments, the Sonata in D major, HWV 371, was written aroud 1750.

    In addition to the 5 sonatas, which have survived as autographs, there are 4 other sonatas of a spurious nature which have found a place in the violin repertoire under Handel's name although they are certainly not from his pen. These sonatas are attempts by other unknown composers to make a name by using the style of the great master. To round off this first ever publication of Handel's Complete Works for Violin and Basso continuo, there are two movements currently not available in any other performing edition: the Allegro, HWV 408 and an Andante, HWV 412.