Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite No. 2, Op. 55

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Edvard Grieg
  • Instrumentation: Orchestra
  • ISMN: 979-000478019-0
  • Size: 9.8 x 12.6 inches
  • Pages: 68
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


After Henrik Ibsen obtained sensational feedback for his verse drama "Peer Gynt", he decided to arrange the text for stage performances as well. He requested incidental music from Edvard Grieg, who immediately assured Ibsen of his cooperation. in its new version, Peer Gynt was given its first performance in February 1876 and also scored a tremendous success. After a further revision of his music, Grieg compiled four of the most striking pieces into an orchestral suite in 1888, and repeated this procedure three years later for a second suite. The publication of the first complete score further boosted the already exceptional acclaim of the incidental music to Grieg's Peer Gynt, which takes its place today among the composer's most beloved works.