Ginastera: 12 American Preludes

Doce Preludios Americanos

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Alberto Ginastera
  • Editor: Alejandro Cremaschi
  • Instrumentation: Piano
  • ISBN: 978-0-8258-3956-6
  • Size: 8.9 x 12.0 inches
  • Pages: 36


The celebrated Argentinian composer Albert Ginastera (1916-1983) composed this popular series of piano preludes in 1944, which was published by Carl Fischer in 1946 and quickly became established as basic repertoire for pianists at the upper-intermediate to advanced level. Each short piece in the collection deals with a particular musical or technical challenge (in the manner of an etude) and several of the pieces are tributes to distinguished fellow composers such as Aaron Copland, Juan José Castro and Hector Villa Lobos. The pieces in this collection are a cornerstone of the modern repertoire.