G. Henle Verlag


Franck: Violin Sonata in A Major

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: César Franck
  • Editor: Peter Jost
  • Fingerings: Yehudi Menuhin, Daniel Hope
  • Instrumentation: Piano, Violin
  • Work: Violin Sonata in A Major, FWV 8
  • ISMN: 9790201813516
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Pages: 70
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


Unlike other late works by Franck, the Violin Sonata of 1886 found a friendly reception among critics and public from the outset. It is dedicated to Eugène Ysaÿe, who was attracting much attention at the time with his flawless violin technique. Ysaÿe was so inspired by the Sonata that he promised, "I will play this masterpiece wherever I can find an artistically-minded pianist." Nothing has changed to the present day regarding the work's continuing popularity.

This edition replaces the older HN293.