• Add description, images, menus and links to your mega menu

  • A column with no settings can be used as a spacer

  • Link to your collections, sales and even external links

  • Add up to five columns

  • G. Henle Verlag


    Field: Piano Sonatas

    In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    • Composer: John Field
    • Editor: Robin Langley
    • Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
    • Instrumentation: Piano
    • ISMN: 9790201803388
    • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    • Pages: 67
    • Urtext / Critical Edition


    John Field, a pupil of Muzio Clementi, was in his day a celebrated pianist, credited with almost legendary skill. The Irish piano virtuoso and composer is principally known for his "Nocturnes," a genre later adopted by Chopin; yet the four piano sonatas in this volume also deserve the highest respect. Since no autographs of them survive, all the important prints issued during Field's lifetime have been consulted for this Henle Urtext edition. Copies with extensive handwritten annotations by the composer have served as our primary source. Editor Robin Langley's preface provides information about the sources of the sonatas, answers questions concerning rhythmic execution, and places Field in the historical context of the piano music of his time, making this edition especially valuable.


    • Piano Sonata E-flat Major, Op. 1, No. 1; Hop. Nr. 8/1
    • Piano Sonata in A Major, Op. 1, No. 2; Hop. Nr. 8/2
    • Piano Sonata in C Minor, Op. 1, No. 3; Hop. Nr. 8/3
    • Piano Sonata in B Major, Hop. Nr. 17