Bärenreiter Praha


Dvořák: String Quartet No. 8 in E Major, Op. 80

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák
  • Instrumentation: String Quartet (Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello)
  • Work: String Quartet No. 8 in E Major, B. 57, Op. 80
  • ISMN: 9790260106062
  • Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
  • Urtext / Critical Edition


String Quartet in E major is the eighth of Dvořák's fourteen works for the most common of chamber music ensembles. The score, originally correctly designated as Op. 27, was written between January 20th and February 4th, 1876 in Prague. It was Dvořák's preceding loss of his second child that apparently gave the piece its tinge of melancholy although the quartet is set in a major key, it mostly plays in a minor one. The work was not published until 1888, when Simrock purposefully used the higher Opus number 80.