G. Henle Verlag


Debussy: Children's Corner

In stock and typically ships within 1 business day.
    1. Composer: Claude Debussy
    2. Editor: Ernst-Günter Heinemann
    3. Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
    4. Introduction: François Lesure
    5. Instrumentation: Piano
    6. ISMN: 979-020180382-1
    7. Size: 9.3 x 12.2 inches
    8. Pages: 30
    9. Urtext / Critical Edition

    This "Little Suite" was published in 1908 and was dedicated to the composer's then three-year old daughter: "To my beloved little Chouchou with the tender excuses of her father for what follows below". The first movement, Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum, alludes to a study by Muzio Clementi. The titles of pieces two through six can be traced back to Debussy's love of everything English. Although the music addresses childish fantasy, at the least a talented amateur is required to perform it. The well-known sixth piece, Golliwogg's Cakewalk, is in ragtime style and shows Debussy's easy-going approach to popular trends in music. Children's Corner was immediately extremely successful and has been arranged for various groups of instruments.